Howdy Cupcake!

Here is a hybrid card I just made for six different challenges, two from Treehouse Stamps, who were nice enough to give away this cute cupcake digi for free.  This was for their monthly May 2010 challenge to use the cupcake digi, as well as their Treehouse Thursday Challenge # 045 – Decophage… although it really bothers me that they didn’t spell it Decoupage, which I believe is the correct spelling.  This is also for Sketchy Thursday’s Second Chance Challenge for Lawn Fawn stamps, which I would love to win, because everything Lawn Fawn makes is so cute!  In addition, it is my entry for Stamp Something’s Something Layered Challenge and Meljen’s Designs 3D Elements Challenge.  The decoupage gives this card a layered, 3D look, although the full effect doesn’t really come though in the photos.  For Cute Card Thursday’s Touchy Feely Challenge, this card has not only the decoupage, but ribbon and embossing as well.

For the Sketchy Thursday challenge, we had to use this sketch:

I wasn’t so crazy about it in the beginning, since it seemed like more of a scrapbooking sketch to me, but after using it, I really like it and the balanced image it created.  Of course, I did take a few liberties such as turning it on its side.

I was so inspired by last week’s paper piecing challenges that once I saw this cupcake digi, I just knew it was perfect for trying paper piecing again.  And if I do say so myself, I think it came out a lot better than my first try.  Also, this was my first time trying the decoupage technique.  It was kind of fun, but also a lot of work.  I’m not 100% sure it’s worth the extra effort, but it’s fun to try at least once.

Here’s another pic showing the side view and the raised image of the decoupaged cupcake. I used different adhesives on the frosting layers to give it a little more visual interest.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Howdy Cupcake!

  1. Absolutely Adorable! I love your project and how you used the cupcake! I always get such joy out of seeing someone enjoying a stamp that I drew! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Hugs,
    Ashley

  2. I love the cupcake. Great job. Thank you for joining us at Meljen’s desings. Good luck!

  3. Dee

    Wonderful card! I love the cupcake and all the layers!
    Thanks so much for joining us at Meljen’s Designs!! Good Luck on the challenge!
    ♥Dee (Spryte)♥

  4. gorgeous card, thank you for joining the MelJen’s challenge . Good luck!

    hugs x

  5. This is just darling. Great job on this. Thanks for playing along with the Treehouse Thursday challenge and we hope to see you again.

  6. So sweet!
    Thanks for joining us over at CCT this week 😀
    Hugs x

  7. yummi yummi. Sweet and lovely.
    Thank you so much for joining us at Stamp Something this week.
    Dorte aka dot-scrap

  8. Lisa

    Great card! Thanks for playing with the MelJen’s challenge this week!

Leave a Reply

